affirm: state as a fact, assert strongly and publicly.

This week my goal is to truly claim myself as a vegetarian; to really declare it with meaning and make it a part of who I am. Words are very powerful and so I have decided to use the affirmation:

“Today, I am a vegetarian.”

I started yesterday. I made a menu plan for the week. Concentrating on removing meat from my diet. All flesh foods. Everything else is fair game for this week – if I choose it.

I repeated my affirmation several times throughout the day, like chanting a mantra.

I was in the bathroom, washing my hands, repeating my affirmaton to myself in the mirror, when all of a sudden I was picturing a skit from Saturday Night Live from years ago with Al Franken playing a character called Stuart Smalley doing a Daily Affirmation.

I couldn’t help but giggle to myself as I pictured this. Not that I don’t want to take this seriously. I am taking this very seriously. But it reminded me that laughter is wonderful medicine and a great tool to help relieve some of the stress that comes with making life changes.

So thank you Stuart Smalley for bringing a smile to my day and for reminding me that “I’m good enough, I’m smart enough, and, doggone it, people like me.”

