On friday I went walking with a friend in the late afternoon. I wasn’t going to go at first because it was quite cold – with the windchill it was definitely well below zero degrees celcius. On saturday I woke up with very little energy and a pressure in my right lung. I had difficulty climbing the stairs without stopping along the way; I couldn’t take a deep breath. This certainly isn’t the first time I have experienced these symptoms, but I managed to go through this entire winter without feeling this way. I guess I thought I was in the clear now that it was officially spring. Obviously I still need to keep an eye on the temperature and when it is below zero I need to stay indoors and stay warm.

I was very happy that we didn’t really have much planned for this weekend. On saturday we participated in Earth Hour. In our home we always do much more than one hour. The children love having all the power out and so do I. We bought some batteries for our small radio, so we could listen to some music; and batteries for our flashlights too. We had a few candles lit throughout the house and an oil lamp too. I love the warm glow of candlelight. Jean and the two girls played many card games and told stories. I read my book until it was much too dark to see and then I just lay under my comfy quilt and enjoyed the sounds of my family playing games and laughing and enjoying each others’ company. I wish we could have an earth hour each week, or at least once a month. It really brings us together as a family.

The dark and quiet atmosphere allowed me to rest and relax; just what my body needed to mend itself. I consumed only liquids until supper time and then I had a very light supper. Sunday I woke feeling much better. It reminded me of how important it is for me to take a day of rest. Each week. Perhaps it can’t always be for an entire day; but a nice long soak in a warm bath by candlelight with soothing music playing, getting into comfy pyjamas and crawling under the blankets, reading a bit of a good book and then going to bed early. That sounds pretty good to me.

