What an incredibly gorgeous weekend we had. Sunshine every day and such warm weather, it felt like summer had arrived instead of spring. We spent so much time outdoors in the backyard. I designed a special garden plan for this year and Jean marked it out for me with string and stakes. Next weekend we are renting a rototiller to break up the soil and create my massive garden beds. I am dreaming big these days, and it looks like my garden dreams are going to come true. How exciting.

I spent some time starting more seeds in pots. I worked outside – barefoot. What a lovely feeling; and so healing, connecting with the earth in that way. I have recently been reading about the tremendous healing powers of grounding yourself to the earth in this way – bare skin touching the earth. Here is a better explanation about the importance of grounding yourself.

Our kitty Will spent some time outside too. He was a bit nervous at first, so that is why he is in his crate in the photo above. We opened up the door and after a while he was brave enough to venture out in the open.

What a wonderful feeling, being out in the open air, in our yard, actually spending some quality time together instead of each of us separately in front of one screen or another. All of us were so eager to get outside into the sun after the long cold winter indoors. Our hibernation is officially over. Just in time for Easter (what perfect timing), a time for new beginnings.

Last year at this time I was just beginning to get up enough energy to go for 10 minute walks. This year I feel so energized and raring to go. What a difference. I am so grateful for this increase in energy. This is what prompted me to step up my garden plans. Last year we did a tiny little garden bed. Just big enough for Jayla to look after, with my help. This year I am not holding back. Jean said he will help me with the initial set up of the gardens, but then it will be up to me to look after them. Hopefully with a bit of help from Jayla.

