A friend told me about this free 7 day diva detox. At first I wasn’t sure if I really wanted to do this. I wasn’t sure if it was in keeping with my “gradual” transition. But in the end I decided that it felt right to me at this time and I wanted to do it.

The detox consists of 5 days of preparation and 7 days of the actual detox. Each day I receive an email of encouragement, support & information and access to a forum where I can connect with other detoxing divas.

So last night I began my water fast after my evening meal.

This morning I went for a walk – 3 kilometers (1.86 miles); it was a beautiful sunny day, even though it was quite cool, I had to wear a few layers, a scarf and fingerless mittens to keep warm enough. Along my walking route I walk a steady incline and at the top of the hill it can get quite chilly because of the wind up there, so I always need to remember this when I head out for my walks. I decided not to walk my full 5 kilometer walk today because I wanted to conserve some energy, I knew this water fast might be a bit draining on me physically.

I spent a lot of time today resting, relaxing, reading and napping. I began a new book. I really love her writing style.

I didn’t keep track of the amount of water that I consumed today, but it was definitely more than normal.

I broke my fast at 6 pm this evening and had a bowl of fresh fruit. 2 apples, 2 kiwis, 1 banana. Chopped up. A fruit salad. I don’t think a fruit salad has ever tasted so good.

I started getting a headache late in the afternoon and it is continuing now into the evening. I’m not sure what this means, so for now I am just observing this discomfort. If it doesn’t go away soon I will have to take medication for it; very seldom do my headaches go away on their own. Thankfully, I rarely get them anymore.

I am still feeling quite hungry right now. Thoughts about certain foods (cravings) are coming up. That box of Girl Guide cookies that I know is in Jean’s briefcase would taste really good right now. No, no, no, I am not going to do it. Don’t worry.

I think I will make myself a cup of Bengal Spice tea. I know tea is not on the menu for tonight, but I know it is better than the alternative.

I think it will be an early night for me tonight. I wonder what I will dream about? Girl Guide cookies perhaps??

