Each day brings with it an opportunity for a fresh start; and today was definitely a better day than yesterday.

Drank lots and lots of water throughout the day. I always begin my day with 2 – 3 large glasses of water, and then throughout the day I drink glass after glass of water. I prefer spring water. I have tried filtered water and reverse osmosis water, but my preference is still spring water. I would love to drink spring water straight from the source one day soon. One just like this one. Who would like to go with me for an adventure to a natural water spring and sample pure water from the source?

I still don’t have a blender, so even though I would LOVE to have smoothies I can’t right now. Smoothies, and specifically Green Smoothies (meaning smoothies with some sort of greens in them, i.e. spinach, romaine lettuce, parsley, etc) are suggested throughout this detox, but it is difficult – actually quite impossible – to make smoothies without a blender, so no smoothies for me during this detox.

Breakfast was 2 gala apples.

Lunch was the above photo. I made “mayonaise” spread by mashing up a really ripe avocado and then mixing some wasabi powder in with it, I also mixed in some zesty lentil sprouts. I spread this onto a nori (seaweed) sheet, then I put some julienned carrots and pieces of avocado onto that and sprinkled it with black and white sesame seeds and some kelp granules. Roll it up and enjoy.

It was another gorgeous sunny day today (I think that it has been 4 or 5 days of sun in a row now) so Jayla and I spent some time outside in the backyard. I walked around barefoot, connecting with the earth as I tidied up the yard, while Jayla made mud pies and dug around in the sandbox.

In the afternoon I had a handful of dried organic prunes for a snack.

Supper was a gigantic salad made with romaine lettuce, carrots, and celery. The dressing was olive oil, balsamic vinegar, stone ground mustard, salt and pepper. Oils, avocados and even sesame seeds (actually dried fruit isn’t either) are not on the list for this detox, but I continue to consume them anyway, because if I didn’t I know I would for sure break down and eat cooked foods instead.

So, yes, I am following the detox, but not exactly. That is just my personality. I don’t really like being told what to do, so even if I voluntarily do something like a detox, I’m still going to break some (if not all) of the rules. I guess I’m just a rebel to the core…ha ha ha…and who am I rebelling against in this case? Just myself.

