The reason I am doing this raw food challenge is of course for myself; so that I may experience better health and happiness. But, always on my mind, is how I can be a person worthy of imitation for my daughters. I want them to know that it is okay for a mother to put herself first at times. I have done the whole “sacrifice myself for the sake of others” thing and that serves no one in the end. Leading by example really is the best way.

Last night’s supper was a raw chili and it was so delicious (and spicy). To my surprise, my husband and daughter both wanted to try it. Of course I was only too eager to give them each a bowl, and guess what…..they liked it. I didn’t go into this journey into raw foods with the intention of changing my entire family’s eating habits, not at all. I did this with the thought that I would always be the odd person out at the dinner table. But just the fact that they are so open to “try” these new foods fills me with such happiness.

